Arctic Engineering

Engineering Building (ENGR), Room 201, (907) 786-1900
www.uaa.alaska.edu/civilengineering/arctic

The Arctic engineering program is designed to provide graduate education for engineers who must deal with the unique challenge of design, construction and operations in the cold regions of the world. The special problems created by the climactic, geological and logistical conditions of the Arctic and sub-Arctic require knowledge and techniques not usually covered in the normal engineering courses. Development of petroleum and other natural resources has accentuated the demand for engineers trained in northern operations, both from private industries involved in development and government agencies planning or regulating these activities. Of primary importance is a thorough knowledge of heat transfer processes and properties of frozen ground and frozen water, which are basic to most engineering activities in the Arctic. The areas of hydraulics, hydrology, materials and utility operations are also uniquely affected by Arctic considerations.

Program of Study

Master of Science

Faculty

Robert Lang, Professor, rjlang@alaska.edu
T. Bart Quimby, Professor Emeritus, tbquimby@alaska.edu
Tom Ravens, Professor, tmravens@alaska.edu
Orson Smith, Professor, opsmith@alaska.edu

Zhaohui Yang, Associate Professor, zyang2@alaska.edu
Hannele Zubeck, Professor/Chair, hkzubeck@alaska.edu
Jon Zufelt, Affiliate Professor, Jon.E.Zufelt@erdc.usace.army.mil