Mathematics and Statistics

Social Sciences Building (SSB), Room 154, (907) 786-1744
www.uaa.alaska.edu/mathematics-and-statistics

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics offers a Bachelor of Science degree and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Mathematics.

The baccalaureate degree programs in mathematics offer an excellent foundation for any career involving theoretical or applied mathematics. Well-trained mathematicians are in demand in many sectors of society, including business, finance, education, computing and government. Both baccalaureate degrees prepare a student for graduate study in the mathematical sciences. Baccalaureate degrees (with appropriately chosen electives) also satisfy National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) standards and prepare a student to teach mathematics at the high school level.

In addition, the Department of Mathematics and Statistics offers courses and programs for those students who wish to:

  • Obtain an Associate of Applied Science degree
  • Obtain an Associate of Arts degree
  • Obtain a variety of certificates
  • Obtain a Minor in Mathematics to enhance studies in another discipline
  • Develop expertise in statistical methods and analysis
  • Improve job-related mathematics skills
  • Study mathematics for self-interest

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science

Minor

Faculty

Eric Andrews, Assistant Professor, eandrews5@alaska.edu
Nathaniel Bushek, Assistant Professor, nbushek@alaska.edu
Samuel Cook, Assistant Professor, sam.cook@alaska.edu
Hilary Davies, Professor Emeritus
Mark Fitch, Professor, mafitch@alaska.edu
Stefanos Folias, Assistant Professor, sefolias@alaska.edu
Larry Foster, Professor, lmfoster@alaska.edu
Joan Haig, Professor, jmhaig@alaska.edu
Alberta Harder, Associate Professor, amharder@alaska.edu
Robert McCoy, Professor, romccoy@alaska.edu
Deborah Narang, Professor, dlnarang@alaska.edu
Kamal Narang, Professor, knarang@alaska.edu

Kanapathi Thiru, Professor, kthiru@alaska.edu
Rieken Venema, Professor, rvenema@alaska.edu
Brian Wick, Professor Emeritus

Yelena Yagodina, Term Assistant Professor, yyagodina@alaska.edu