Mathematics and Statistics

Social Sciences Building (SSB), Room 154, (907) 786-1744
www.uaa.alaska.edu/mathematics-and-statistics

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics offers a Bachelor of Science degree and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Mathematics.

The baccalaureate degree programs in mathematics offer an excellent foundation for any career involving theoretical or applied mathematics. Well-trained mathematicians are in demand in many sectors of society, including business, finance, education, computing and government. Both baccalaureate degrees prepare a student for graduate study in the mathematical sciences. Baccalaureate degrees (with appropriately chosen electives) also satisfy Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) formerly known as National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) standards and prepare a student to teach mathematics at the high school level.

In addition, the Department of Mathematics and Statistics offers courses and programs for those students who wish to:

  • Obtain an Associate of Applied Science degree
  • Obtain an Associate of Arts degree
  • Obtain a variety of certificates
  • Obtain a Minor in Mathematics to enhance studies in another discipline
  • Develop expertise in statistical methods and analysis
  • Improve job-related mathematics skills
  • Study mathematics for self-interest

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science

Minor

Faculty

Eric Andrews, Assistant Professor, eandrews5@alaska.edu
Samuel Cook, Assistant Professor, sam.cook@alaska.edu
Hilary Davies, Professor Emerita
Mark Fitch, Professor, mafitch@alaska.edu
Stefanos Folias, Assistant Professor, sefolias@alaska.edu
Larry Foster, Professor, lmfoster@alaska.edu
Joan Haig, Professor, jmhaig@alaska.edu
Alberta Harder, Associate Professor, amharder@alaska.edu
Robert McCoy, Professor Emeritus
Deborah Narang, Professor, dlnarang@alaska.edu
Kamal Narang, Professor, knarang@alaska.edu

Kanapathi Thiru, Professor, kthiru@alaska.edu
Rieken Venema, Professor, rvenema@alaska.edu
Brian Wick, Professor Emeritus

Yelena Yagodina, Term Assistant Professor, yyagodina@alaska.edu