Natural Sciences

ConocoPhillips Integrated Sciences Building (CPSB), Room 101, (907) 786-1298
www.uaa.alaska.edu/biology

The undergraduate program in natural sciences is founded on a curriculum that emphasizes the interrelationships among the sciences. A program of study in the natural sciences requires that students select an option within the degree and complete all courses required within the option, as well as sufficient science elective courses to meet minimum unit requirements for graduation.

Students accepted into this flexible degree program select one of three options. The general sciences option is designed for students who are interested in understanding the interrelationships among various scientific fields, or in teaching science at the secondary level. The pre-health professions option is designed to meet the admission requirements of specific professional schools in medicine, dentistry and veterinary medicine. The environmental sciences option is designed to prepare students for graduate school or for employment in the private or public sector.

The natural sciences program is administered by the Department of Biological Sciences. Upon acceptance to the major the student will be assigned an academic advisor from the Department of Biological Sciences in accordance with the student’s declared option. Students are strongly encouraged to consult with their academic advisors to determine which electives best suit their career requirements.

Program of Study

Bachelor of Science

Faculty

Eric Bortz, Assistant Professor, ebortz@alaska.edu
Jason Burkhead, Assistant Professor, jlburkhead@alaska.edu
Jennifer Moss Burns, Professor, jmburns@alaska.edu
Matt Carlson, Associate Professor, mlcarlson@alaska.edu
Douglas Causey, Professor, dcausey@alaska.edu
Kristine Crossen, Associate Professor, kjcrossen@alaska.edu
Khrys Duddleston, Associate Professor, knduddleston@alaska.edu
Sarah Gerken, Professor, sagerken@alaska.edu
Martha Hatch, Associate Professor, AFMAH@alaska.edu
Eric Holmberg, Professor, egholmberg@alaska.edu

Miki Ii, Assistant Professor, mii@alaska.edu
John Kennish, Professor, jmkennish@alaska.edu
Jocelyn Krebs, Professor, jekrebs@alaska.edu
Jerry Kudenov, Professor, jdkudenov@alaska.edu
Kristine Mann, Professor Emeritus, afkem@alaska.edu
Jerzy Maselko, Professor, jmaselko2@alaska.edu
Colin McGill, Assistant Professor, cmmcgill@alaska.edu
Dean Milligan, Professor Emeritus, afdem1@alaska.edu
LeeAnn Munk, Associate Professor, lamunk@alaska.edu
Terry Naumann, Term Assistant Professor, trnaumann@alaska.edu
James Pantaleone, Professor, jtpantaleone@alaska.edu
Ann Pasch, Emeritus Professor, afadp@alaska.edu
Kim Peterson, Professor Emeritus, knpeterson@alaska.edu
Katherine Rawlins, Assistant Professor, krawlins@alaska.edu
Travis Rector, Professor, tarector@alaska.edu
Donald Spalinger, Professor, despalinger@alaska.edu
Jonathan Stecyk, Assistant Professor, jstecyk@alaska.edu

Bjartmar Sveinbjörnsson, Professor, bsveinbjornsson@alaska.edu
Ian van Tets, Associate Professor, igvantets@alaska.edu
Frank von Hippel, Professor, favonhippel@alaska.edu 
Jeffrey Welker, Profesor, jmwekler@alaska.edu