1

Bachelor of Arts in Political Science

Admission Requirements

Complete the Application and Admission Requirements for Baccalaureate Programs (http://catalog.uaa.alaska.edu/academicpoliciesprocesses/admissions/undergraduate/).

Graduation Requirements

- Complete the General University Requirements for Baccalaureate Degrees (http://catalog.uaa.alaska.edu/undergraduateprograms/baccalaureaterequirements/).
- Complete the General Education Requirements for Baccalaureate Degrees (http://catalog.uaa.alaska.edu/undergraduateprograms/baccalaureaterequirements/gers/).
- Complete the following major requirements:

Code	Title	Credits
Core Courses		
PS A101	Introduction to American Government	3
PS A102	Introduction to Political Science	3
PS A492	Senior Seminar in Politics	3
Complete one course from each of the four areas below: 12		
Comparative Politics		
PS A301	Comparative Political Economy	
PS A311	Comparative Politics	
International Relations		
PS A321	International Relations	
PS A322	United States Foreign Policy	
Political Philosophy		
PS A332	History of Political Philosophy I: Classical	
PS A333	History of Political Philosophy II: Modern	
American Politics		
PS A330	The American Political Tradition	
PS A353	American Political Development	
Electives		
Complete 12 additional credits in PS courses. PS A490 may		12
be repeated for up to 6 credits with a change in subtitle.		

A total of 120 credits is required for the degree, of which 39 credits must be upper-division; a minimum of 33 credits must be from PS courses.

Honors in Political Science

Students majoring in political science are eligible to graduate with departmental honors if they satisfy all of the following requirements:

- Meet the requirements for a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science;
- Maintain a minimum GPA of 3.50 in courses applicable to the degree requirements;
- Complete PS A492 in the final term of study with a grade of A or B;
- Receive an honors score (based upon criteria established by the department) on a comprehensive examination for majors.

Departmental honors are awarded by the political science faculty.