Accounting and Finance

Edward & Cathryn Rasmuson Hall (RH), Room 203, (907) 786-4100
business.uaa.alaska.edu/departments/accounting-finance/

The Department of Accounting and Finance is committed to enhancing lifelong learning skills to encourage responsible citizenship and personal satisfaction. 

The Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) in Accounting and Associate of Applied Science (AAS) in Accounting prepare students for careers in business, government or non-profit organizations. Accounting is often referred to as the "language of business" because it communicates economic information to decision-makers. Every business organization, non-profit entity and governmental agency requires accounting information to operate and perform successfully.

The BBA in Accounting is offered through the Anchorage campus and gives students a broad-based business background and provides a solid foundation for careers in public accounting, private accounting, and accounting for government or non-profit organizations. The program also provides a foundation for graduates to pursue additional professional certifications, including, but not limited to, the Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE), and Certified Management Accountant (CMA) designations.

The AAS in Accounting prepares students for entry-level accounting positions such as bookkeeper, accounts receivable, accounts payable and payroll clerk; assistant to line and staff accountants; or paraprofessionals in CPA firms. The program emphasizes understanding the accounting cycle, processes and procedures, as well as generally accepted accounting principles. UAA offers the AAS in Accounting through UAA’s Anchorage, Kodiak and Matanuska-Susitna campuses.

AAS students who plan to also earn a BBA degree in Accounting should take General Education Requirement (GER) courses. To ensure applicability to a BBA degree, students are encouraged to meet with an academic advisor for the best transition possible.

The BBA in Finance prepares students for entry-level financial management jobs in corporations, non-profit organizations and financial institutions; financial analysis with brokerage and money management firms; financial planning services; and financial consulting to small business. Furthermore, it prepares students for graduate studies in finance.

Students gain knowledge about concepts of financial planning, analysis and management in a global context; functions, structures, delivery systems, efficiency and performance of financial markets and institutions; concepts, techniques and strategies of investment in financial and real assets; creation of values for the stockbrokers, stakeholders and society; and the value of financial securities and the enterprise.

Programs of Study

Associate of Applied Science

Bachelor of Business Administration

Minor

Faculty

Nalinaksha Bhattacharyya, Professor, nbhattacharyya@alaska.edu
Thomas Dalrymple, Associate Professor, tdalrymp@alaska.edu
Ajit Dayanandan, Associate Professor, adayanandan@alaska.edu
Han Donker, Professor, hadonker@alaska.edu

C. Patrick Fort, Professor, cpfort@alaska.edu
Kathrynn Hollis-Buchanan, Associate Professor, khollisbuchanan@alaska.edu
Gokhan Karahan, Associate Professor, gkarahan@alaska.edu
D. J. Kilpatrick, Associate Professor, djkilpatrick@alaska.edu
Lynn Koshiyama, Professor, lkkoshiyama@alaska.edu
John Nofsinger, Professor, jnofsinger@alaska.edu
Soren Orley, Associate Professor, seorley@alaska.edu

Stasia Straley, Associate Professor, scstraley@alaska.edu
Teresa Stephenson, Professor, tstephenson01@alaska.edu

Clayton Trotter, Professor, rctrotter@alaska.edu