Biological Sciences

ConocoPhillips Integrated Sciences Building (CPSB), Room 101, (907) 786-1298
www.uaa.alaska.edu/biological-sciences

The Department of Biological Sciences is currently home to 17 tenure-track faculty members and a strong cohort of term, adjunct and affiliate faculty members. Our faculty have diverse research programs and strengths in ecology, evolutionary biology, cell and developmental biology, physiological ecology of plants and animals, biomechanics, microbiology, genetics, and molecular biology. The research of many departmental faculty members is directed at questions related to life in the north, including physiological adaptations to cold, dark and extreme environments, and the complex dynamics of ecosystem processes. Biomedical research is an important strength, and many of the faculty participate in the IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) program, funded by the National Institutes of Health.

Our productive graduate program includes more than 30 MS and PhD students. We are known for our commitment to provide students with maximum opportunities in faculty-directed field and lab research, ranging from molecular and cell-based studies to conservation, microbiology, ecology, animal physiology, biomechanics and toxicology research. Faculty and students participate in field research in the polar regions and beyond. Please contact us for more information or visit our faculty webpages.

Programs of Study

Master of Science

Doctoral Program

Students interested in pursuing a PhD in Biological Sciences at UAA may do so via collaborative programs with the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF). Students engaged in research with a UAA faculty member may apply to the following UAF PhD programs: biochemistry and molecular biology, biology and wildlife, or fisheries and ocean sciences. A UAA faculty mentor can advise the applicant on which program is most appropriate for the course of study.  Each collaborative program has different admissions, degree and residency requirements. Please visit the UAF Graduate School's website for additional information. We ask PhD applicants to send a complete copy of their application packet to our office for our files and highly recommend that applicants include the name of their UAA faculty mentor in their application cover letter. This will ensure a smoother application process. Please visit the UAF links below for detailed program information:

Faculty

Eric Bortz, Assistant Professor, ebortz@alaska.edu
Brandon Briggs, Assistant Professor, bbriggs@alaska.edu
Jason Burkhead, Assistant Professor, jlburkhead@alaska.edu
Jennifer Burns, Professor, jmburns@alaska.edu
Matt Carlson, Associate Professor, mlcarlson@alaska.edu
Douglas Causey, Professor, dcausey@alaska.edu
Khrys Duddleston, Professor, knduddleston@alaska.edu
Sarah Gerken, Associate Professor, sagerken@alaska.edu
Rachael Hannah, Assistant Professor, rmhannah@alaska.edu
Christopher Jung, Assistant Professor, cmjung@alaska.edu
Jocelyn Krebs, Professor, jekrebs@alaska.edu
Kathryn Milligan-Myhre, Assistant Professor, kat@alaska.edu
Donald Spalinger, Professor, despalinger@alaska.edu
Jonathan Stecyk, Associate Professor, jstecyk@alaska.edu
Ian van Tets, Associate Professor, igvantets@alaska.edu
Jeffrey Welker, Professor, jmwelker@alaska.edu
Cheryl Wilga, Director and Professor, cwilga@alaska.edu

Jerry Kudenov, Professor Emeritus, jdkudenov@alaska.edu
Bjartmar Sveinbjörnsson, Professor Emeritus, bsveinbjornsson@alaska.edu