Health Science Building (HSB), Room 101, (907) 786-4550

The mission of the nursing program is to educate students for productive citizenship, personal growth and professional nursing practice. The department offers potential students interested in becoming qualified to practice as a registered nurse two options: the Associate of Applied Science in Nursing and the Bachelor of Science in Nursing Science. The programs are designed to reflect Alaska’s needs and health care delivery systems, although graduates are prepared for beginning practice positions in other geographic areas as well. An AAS direct articulation program is available for individuals who already hold the LPN license in Alaska. A baccalaureate completion program is available for individuals who already hold the RN license in Alaska.

The undergraduate nursing programs are approved by the Alaska Board of Nursing and accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, 3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326, (404) 975-5000, Graduates of the programs are eligible to write the National Council Licensing Examination (NCLEX) for licensure as a registered professional nurse in Alaska and other nursing jurisdictions. The baccalaureate program also provides students with the academic base for graduate study in nursing.

Information sessions are available to interested students. Times and locations are recorded on (907) 786-4560.

Programs of Study

Associate of Applied Science

Bachelor of Science


Barbara Berner, Director,
Marianne Murray, Assistant Professor, Incoming Director,
David Ampong, Assistant Professor,
Cynthia Booher, Assistant Professor,
Daniel Booher, Assistant Professor,
Rebecca Bouker, Term Assistant Professor,
Bethany Buchannan, Term Assistant Professor,
Michele Burdette-Taylor, Assistant Professor,
Susan Camasi, Assistant Professor,
Martha Carver, Term Instructor,
Bernice Carmon, Associate Professor,
April Cordero, Assistant Professor,
Leanne Davis, Assistant Professor,
Tina DeLapp, Professor Emerita,
Margaret Draskovich, Associate Professor,
Elizabeth Driscoll, Term Assistant Professor,
Janet Gleason, Assistant Professor,
Bonnie Gonzales, Assistant Professor,
Pamela Grogan, Assistant Professor,
Catherine Hample, Assistant Professor,
Thomas Hendrix, Associate Professor,
Jill Janke, Professor/Graduate Program Chair,
Cindy Jones, Term Assistant Professor,
Colleen Kelley, Assistant Professor,
Dorothy Kinley, Assistant Professor,
Carol Klamser, Associate Professor,
Patricia Lynes-Hayes, Term Assistant Professor,
Jane Luscumb, Assistant Professor,
Christine Michel, Associate Professor/BS Program Chair,
Rachel Muir, Assistant Professor,
Terri Olson, Associate Professor,
Maureen O’Malley, Associate Professor/Associate Director,
Sharon Peabody, Term Assistant Professor,
Judy Petersen, Professor Emerita,
Elizabeth Predeger, Professor,
Annette Rearden, Associate Professor,
Teri Russell, Assistant Professor,
Carol “Lynn” Sennete, Assistant Professor,
Kathleen Stephenson, Associate Professor/AAS Program Chair,
Cynthia Montgomery, Assistant Professor,
Catherine Sullivan, Associate Professor,
Dianne Toebe, Associate Professor,
Sharyl Toscano, Professor,
Ammie Tremblay, Associate Professor,
Angelia Trujillo, Assistant Professor,
Shirley Valek-Wilson, Associate Professor,