Nursing

Health Science Building (HSB), Room 101, (907) 786-4550
www.uaa.alaska.edu/schoolofnursing

The mission of the nursing program is to educate students for productive citizenship, personal growth and professional nursing practice. The department offers potential students interested in becoming qualified to practice as a registered nurse two options: the Associate of Applied Science in Nursing and the Bachelor of Science in Nursing Science. The programs are designed to reflect Alaska’s needs and health care delivery systems, although graduates are prepared for beginning practice positions in other geographic areas as well. An AAS direct articulation program is available for individuals who already hold the LPN license in Alaska. A baccalaureate completion program is available for individuals who already hold the RN license in Alaska.

The undergraduate nursing programs are approved by the Alaska Board of Nursing and accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, 3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326, (404) 975-5000, info@acenursing.org. Graduates of the programs are eligible to write the National Council Licensing Examination (NCLEX) for licensure as a registered professional nurse in Alaska and other nursing jurisdictions. The baccalaureate program also provides students with the academic base for graduate study in nursing.

Information sessions are available to interested students. Times and locations are recorded on (907) 786-4560.

Programs of Study

Associate of Applied Science

Bachelor of Science

Faculty

Barbara Berner, Director, bjberner@alaska.edu
Marianne Murray, Assistant Professor, Incoming Director, mmurray13@alaska.edu
David Ampong, Assistant Professor, dnampong@alaska.edu
Cynthia Booher, Assistant Professor, cdbooher@alaska.edu
Daniel Booher, Assistant Professor, djbooher@alaska.edu
Rebecca Bouker, Term Assistant Professor, ribouker@alaska.edu
Bethany Buchannan, Term Assistant Professor, bbuchan1@alaska.edu
Michele Burdette-Taylor, Assistant Professor, mrburdettetaylor@alaska.edu
Susan Camasi, Assistant Professor, sfcamasi@alaska.edu
Martha Carver, Term Instructor, mlcarmer@alaska.edu
Bernice Carmon, Associate Professor, bwcarmon@alaska.edu
April Cordero, Assistant Professor, alcordero@alaska.edu
Leanne Davis, Assistant Professor, lmdavis4@alaska.edu
Tina DeLapp, Professor Emerita, tddelapp@alaska.edu
Margaret Draskovich, Associate Professor, msdraskovich@alaska.edu
Elizabeth Driscoll, Term Assistant Professor, emdriscoll@alaska.edu
Janet Gleason, Assistant Professor, jlgleason@alaska.edu
Bonnie Gonzales, Assistant Professor, bjgonzales2@alaska.edu
Pamela Grogan, Assistant Professor, pjgrogan@alaska.edu
Catherine Hample, Assistant Professor, clhample@alaska.edu
Thomas Hendrix, Associate Professor, thendri3@alaska.edu
Jill Janke, Professor/Graduate Program Chair, jrjanke@alaska.edu
Cindy Jones, Term Assistant Professor, cgjones2@alaska.edu
Colleen Kelley, Assistant Professor, cmkelley2@alaska.edu
Dorothy Kinley, Assistant Professor, djkinley@alaska.edu
Carol Klamser, Associate Professor, clklamser@alaska.edu
Patricia Lynes-Hayes, Term Assistant Professor, plyneshayes@alaska.edu
Jane Luscumb, Assistant Professor, jmluscumb@alaska.edu
Christine Michel, Associate Professor/BS Program Chair, cmmichel@alaska.edu
Rachel Muir, Assistant Professor, rjpellmuir@alaska.edu
Terri Olson, Associate Professor, tsolson@alaska.edu
Maureen O’Malley, Associate Professor/Associate Director, momalley@alaska.edu
Sharon Peabody, Term Assistant Professor, speabody@alaska.edu
Judy Petersen, Professor Emerita, japeterson@alaska.edu
Elizabeth Predeger, Professor, ejpredeger@alaska.edu
Annette Rearden, Associate Professor, alauria@alaska.edu
Teri Russell, Assistant Professor, tlrussell@alaska.edu
Carol “Lynn” Sennete, Assistant Professor, clsennete@alaska.edu
Kathleen Stephenson, Associate Professor/AAS Program Chair, ksstephenson@alaska.edu
Cynthia Montgomery, Assistant Professor, cdstrobach@alaska.edu
Catherine Sullivan, Associate Professor, chsullivan@alaska.edu
Dianne Toebe, Associate Professor, dmtoebe@alaska.edu
Sharyl Toscano, Professor, setoscano@alaska.edu
Ammie Tremblay, Associate Professor, altremblay@alaska.edu
Angelia Trujillo, Assistant Professor, actrujillo@alaska.edu
Shirley Valek-Wilson, Associate Professor, sjvalekwilson@alaska.edu