Nursing

Health Sciences Building (HSB), Room 101, (907) 786-4550
www.uaa.alaska.edu/schoolofnursing

Nursing Doctoral Degree Program

Graduate studies at the doctoral level place primary emphasis upon advanced professional nursing practice, theory, research and leadership roles in advancing health care delivery systems and application of research into practice. The Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) represents the highest degree in nursing practice. The DNP program at the UAA SON is accredited through 2021 by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), One Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 530, Washington, DC 20036, (202) 887-6791.

There are two pathways for the DNP degree.

  • The post-baccalaureate DNP pathway is for registered nurses who have completed a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree or a Master of Science in Nursing degree with a generalist (non-APRN) or nursing education focus. They will develop advanced practice primary care skills for individuals across the life-span as a Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) or as a Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMH-NP). In addition, they will expand their knowledge and skills to interpret research, apply best practices, and incorporate clinical knowledge and leadership skills to influence health care systems and policy. In fall 2019, the post-baccalaureate DNP pathway will replace the current master's degree nurse practitioner options (FNP and PMH-NP). Contact a DNP advisor for details.
  • The post-masters DNP pathway is for individuals who are master’s prepared Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) and are certified nurse practitioners (NPs), certified nurse midwives (CNMs), or certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs). Since students in this pathway are already educated in a population focused advanced practice role, the program is designed to expand their knowledge and skills to interpret research, apply best practices, and incorporate clinical knowledge and leadership skills to influence health care systems and policy.

Nursing Master's Degree Programs

Graduate studies at the master’s level place primary emphasis upon advanced professional nursing practice, theory, research and health care delivery systems. The master’s program is accredited through 2025 by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), 3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326, (404) 975-5000.  Students may develop a specialized practice focus in nursing leadership (NLDR) with a concentration in nursing education (NLDR-educ) or administration (NLDR-admin), as a family nurse practitioner (FNP) or psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner (PMH-NP). In fall 2019, the FNP and PMH-NP will transition to the DNP (see Nursing Doctoral Degree Program above).

Nursing Graduate Certificate Programs

The nursing graduate certificate programs were designed for individuals who have previously acquired their master’s or doctoral degrees in nursing and wish to expand their nursing competencies or practice. The graduate certificate programs are accredited through 2025 by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), 3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326, (404) 975-5000. Graduate certificate programs are offered in several specialty areas: family nurse practitioner (FNP), psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner (PMH-NP) or nurse educator (EDUC). Prior nursing degrees must be issued from institutions that hold regional accreditation and from programs that hold nursing accreditation (from either the ACEN or the CCNE). The graduate certificate curriculum builds on the student’s prior graduate degree in nursing by integrating content from that degree with theory-based advanced practice nursing courses and specialty clinical practice. To be eligible for either the FNP or PMH-NP graduate certificate programs, the individual must already be certified as a nurse practitioner in another specialty.

Faculty

Marianne Murray, Associate Professor/Director, mmurray13@alaska.edu

Cynthia Booher, Assistant Professor, djbooher@alaska.edu

Michelle Burdette-Taylor, Assistant Professor, mrburdettetaylor@alaska.edu
Bernice Carmon, Associate Professor, bwcarmon@alaska.edu

Pamela Grogan, Assistant Professor, pjgrogan@alaska.edu
Thomas Hendrix, Associate Professor, thendri3@alaska.edu

Lisa Jackson, Associate Professor, lmjackson@alaska.edu
Jill Janke, Professor/Graduate Program Chair, jrjanke@alaska.edu
Cindy Jones, Assistant Professor, cgjones2@alaska.edu

Colleen Kelley, Assistant Professor, cmkelley2@alaska.edu

Pat Lynes-Hayes, Term Assistant Professor, plyneshayes@alaska.edu

Margaret Mete, Associate Professor, msdraskovich@alaska.edu

Christine Michel, Associate Professor, cmmichel@alaska.edu
Maureen O’Malley, Associate Professor/Associate Director, momalley@alaska.edu

Betty Predeger, Professor Emerita, ejpredeger@alaska.edu

Rodney Riesland, Term Assistant Professor, rjriesland@alaska.edu

Carolyn Seeganna, Term Assistant Professor, cmseeganna@alaska.edu

Dianne Toebe, Associate Professor, dmtoebe@alaska.edu

Sharyl Toscano, Professor, setoscano@alaska.edu
Angelia Trujillo, Assistant Professor, actrujillo@alaska.edu

Kitty Wellmann, Assistant Professor, kswellmann@alaska.edu