Journalism and Communication

Professional Studies Building (PSB), Room 203, (907) 786-1665

The Department of Journalism and Communication offers an undergraduate program leading to a Bachelor of Arts with concentrations in journalism and digital media or strategic communications. In addition the department offers a Minor in Communication as well as supporting the general education requirement in oral communication.

The program in journalism and public communications is nationally accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). The department places great emphasis on preparing graduates for careers in professional communications and media industries.

Journalism and public communications courses examine the role of the media in society and explore contemporary social, ethical and legal issues related to journalism, professional communications and media industries. The program emphasizes broad scholarship in the liberal arts. This type of scholarship is essential for preparation in professional communications and media industries, which require journalists and communications practitioners to possess a wide range of knowledge and understand the role of free expression in global society.

Communication courses introduce students to communication theory and skill development that helps them navigate their personal and professional lives more successfully. Students learn skills essential for leadership, career development and for understanding the complexities of personal, professional, and political messages. Communication courses also develop skills essential for leadership, career development, and for understanding and interpreting events. Students learn to advocate and critically debate ideas in social and political settings, appreciate diverse communication styles, work productively in task-oriented groups, and engage in rewarding interpersonal relationships. Students are encouraged to develop skills necessary to engage in genuine dialogue in order to share experiences and solve problems in our local and global communities.


The Department of Journalism and Communication prepares students for professional careers and graduate study. Through research, creative activities and community engagement, the department also strives to meet Alaska’s communication needs. The department's goal is to contribute to the development of the economic and social environment of the state with an emphasis on the southcentral region served by the University of Alaska Anchorage.

The department aims to foster in its students a strong resolve to make the flow of news and communication more accurate, informative, complete, fair and ethical. To accomplish this goal, the department seeks to teach students theory, skills and ethical principles of journalism and communication that will endure as fundamentals in a rapidly changing world.

The department offers students a chance for involvement in a range of co-curricular opportunities. It houses the Seawolf Debate program, and advises student media outlets The Northern Light and KRUA radio. For information on Seawolf Debate, contact Professor Steve Johnson. For information on student media, contact Professor Paola Banchero.

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts



Elizabeth Arnold, Associate Professor,
Paola Banchero, Associate Professor/Chair,
Edgar Blatchford, Associate Professor,

Mark Bruner, Term Instructor,
Barbara Harville, Professor,
Steve Johnson, Associate Professor,
Joy Chavez Mapaye, Associate Professor,
Ron McGee, Associate Professor,
Marsha Olson, Term Instructor,

Doug Parry, Professor,
Solveig Pedersen, Term Instructor,
Michelle Scaman, Term Instructor,
Marcia Stratton, Professor,
Shawnalee Whitney, Associate Professor,