Journalism and Communication

Professional Studies Building (PSB), Room 203, (907) 786-1665
www.uaa.alaska.edu/journalismandcommunication

The Department of Journalism and Communication offers an undergraduate program leading to a Bachelor of Arts with concentrations in journalism and digital media or strategic communications.

The program in journalism and public communications is nationally accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). The department places great emphasis on preparing graduates for careers in professional communications and media industries.

Journalism and public communications courses examine the role of the media in society and explore contemporary social, ethical and legal issues related to journalism, professional communications and media industries. The program emphasizes broad scholarship in the liberal arts. This type of scholarship is essential for preparation in professional communications and media industries, which require journalists and communications practitioners to possess a wide range of knowledge and understand the role of free expression in global society.

Mission

The Department of Journalism and Communication prepares students for professional careers and graduate study. Through research, creative activities and community engagement, the department also strives to meet Alaska’s communication needs. The department's goal is to contribute to the development of the economic and social environment of the state with an emphasis on the southcentral region served by the University of Alaska Anchorage.

The department aims to foster in its students a strong resolve to make the flow of news and communication more accurate, informative, complete, fair and ethical. To accomplish this goal, the department seeks to teach students theory, skills and ethical principles of journalism and communication that will endure as fundamentals in a rapidly changing world.

The department offers students a chance for involvement in a range of co-curricular opportunities. It houses the Seawolf Debate program, and advises student media outlets The Northern Light and KRUA radio. For information on Seawolf Debate, contact Professor Steve Johnson. For information on student media, contact Professor Paola Banchero.

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts

Minor

Faculty

Elizabeth Arnold, Associate Professor/Chair, earnoldnpr@gmail.com
Paola Banchero, Associate Professor, pbanchero@alaska.edu
Edgar Blatchford, Associate Professor, eblatchford@alaska.edu

Mark Bruner, Term Instructor, mcbruner@alaska.edu
Barbara Harville, Professor, baharville@alaska.edu
Steve Johnson, Associate Professor, sljohnson@alaska.edu
Joy Chavez Mapaye, Associate Professor, jcmapaye@alaska.edu
Ron McGee, Associate Professor, rmcgee@alaska.edu
Marsha Olson, Term Instructor, maschirack@alaska.edu

Doug Parry, Professor, djparry@alaska.edu
Solveig Pedersen, Term Instructor, sepedersen@alaska.edu
Michelle Scaman, Term Instructor,
mlscaman@alaska.edu
Marcia Stratton, Professor, mrstratton@alaska.edu
Shawnalee Whitney, Associate Professor, sawhitney@alaska.edu