Please note: The Bachelors of Arts in Early Childhood Education and in Elementary Education, the Post-Baccalaureate Certificates in Early Childhood and in Elementary Education, the Graduate Certificate in Special Education (K-12) initial licensure track, the Master of Arts in Teaching, and the Master of Education in Early Childhood Special Education initial licensure track no longer hold specialized accreditation from the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) as of December 31, 2018.

The Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Public Communications voluntarily withdrew from specialized accreditation by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC).

History

Administration/Humanities Building (ADM), Room 147, (907) 786-1539
www.uaa.alaska.edu/history

History as a subject in its broadest sense is all that human beings have thought and done. Knowledge of history is the principal means by which humans discover and preserve their collective identity, for through such knowledge we gain a clear view of our limitations and a glimpse of our potential.

History as an intellectual discipline examines and interprets the documentary records of human activity, records that are often fragmentary and incomplete. As a discipline, history is both a science and an art; it requires an intricate balance of scientific technique and creative imagination to weave fragments of evidence into an intelligent account of human experience.

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts

Minor

Faculty

Anchorage:

Ray Ball, Associate Professor, rball11@alaska.edu 

Deirdre Bryan, Assistant Professor, dmbryan@alaska.edu

Elizabeth Dennison, Professor, ejdennison@alaska.edu

Paul Dunscomb, Professor/Chair, pedunscomb@alaska.edu

Songho Ha, Professor, sha4@alaska.edu

Ian Hartman, Associate Professor, ichartman@alaska.edu

William Myers, Professor, wlmyers@alaska.edu

Mat-Su College Campus:

Erik Hirschman, Professor, ethirschman@alaska.edu

Kachemak Bay Campus:

Jeffery Meyers, Assistant Professor, jmeyers13@alaska.edu 

Emeritus/Retired Faculty:

Ronald Crawford, Professor Emeritus, ron.crawford@alaska.edu

Michael Hawfield, Associate Professor Emeritus, mchawfield@alaska.edu

Steve Haycox, Professor Emeritus, swhaycox@alaska.edu

W.A. Jacobs, Professor Emeritus, wajacobs@alaska.edu

Caedmon Liburd, Associate Professor (retired), caliburd@alaska.edu

Don Mohr, Professor Emeritus, demohr@alaska.edu