History

Administration/Humanities Building (ADM), Room 147, (907) 786-1539
www.uaa.alaska.edu/history

History as a subject in its broadest sense is all that human beings have thought and done. Knowledge of history is the principal means by which humans discover and preserve their collective identity, for through such knowledge we gain a clear view of our limitations and a glimpse of our potential.

History as an intellectual discipline examines and interprets the documentary records of human activity, records that are often fragmentary and incomplete. As a discipline, history is both a science and an art; it requires an intricate balance of scientific technique and creative imagination to weave fragments of evidence into an intelligent account of human experience.

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts

Minor

Faculty

Ray Ball, Associate Professor, rball11@alaska.edu
Ronald Crawford, Professor Emeritus, ron.crawford@alaska.edu
Elizabeth Dennison, Professor, ejdennison@alaska.edu
Paul Dunscomb, Professor/Chair, pedunscomb@alaska.edu
Songho Ha, Associate Professor, sha4@alaska.edu
Ian Hartman, Associate Professor, ichartman@alaska.edu
Steve Haycox, Professor Emeritus, swhaycox@alaska.edu
W.A. Jacobs, Professor Emeritus, wajacobs@alaska.edu
Caedmon Liburd, Associate Professor (retired), caliburd@alaska.edu
Don Mohr, Professor Emeritus, demohr@alaska.edu
Bill Myers, Professor, wlmyers@alaska.edu