Biological Sciences

ConocoPhillips Integrated Sciences Building (CPSB), Room 101, (907) 786-1298
www.uaa.alaska.edu/biological-sciences

Biology is the science concerned with the study of living organisms. It encompasses a vast range of biological disciplines, from the study of microbes and molecular biology to the study of plants, animals and the environment. The undergraduate program in the biological sciences includes courses that provide students with a broad understanding of both traditional and modern biological sciences. These courses are suitable as preparation for professional degrees, teaching, or careers in government or industry. Both the Bachelor of Arts and the Bachelor of Science degrees are available for undergraduates. A Master of Science program in Biological Sciences as well as a joint UAA-UAF Doctor of Philosophy program are available for students already holding a baccalaureate degree.

A program of study in the biological sciences requires completion of a basic science core curriculum in the chemical, physical and mathematical sciences as well as required and elective courses in the biological sciences. A degree in the biological sciences prepares students who wish to pursue careers in medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, ecology and the environmental sciences in the private or public sector, or who wish to attend graduate school. Students are strongly encouraged to consult with their academic advisors within the Department of Biological Sciences to determine which electives best suit their programmatic needs and career requirements.

The Bachelor of Arts and the Bachelor of Science programs can be completed in four years by students who have had adequate high school preparation in math and sciences.

Community Service Courses

The department offers a wide range of community service courses as a service to the people in the Anchorage area and extended campuses who wish to become more knowledgeable about the science of biology and how it relates to them. Unless noted otherwise in the course description, community service courses do not satisfy either core requirements or elective credit toward any degree programs in the biological sciences. All are offered as demand warrants.

BIOL A074Field Natural History1-3
BIOL A075Local Flora1
BIOL A100Human Biology3
BIOL A124Biota of Alaska: Selected Topics1-4

Natural Sciences

The Department of Biological Sciences also oversees the Bachelor of Science in Natural Sciences. This curriculum emphasizes the interrelationships among the sciences. A program of study in the natural sciences requires that students select an option within the degree and complete all courses required within the option, as well as sufficient science elective courses to meet minimum unit requirements for graduation. Students accepted into this flexible degree program select one of three options:

  • General Sciences Option: designed for students who are interested in understanding the interrelationships among various scientific fields, or in teaching science at the secondary level.
  • Pre-Health Professions Option: designed to meet the admission requirements of specific professional schools in medicine, dentistry and veterinary medicine.
  • Environmental Sciences Option: designed to prepare students for graduate school or for employment in the private or public sector.

For a complete program description see Natural Sciences.

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science

Faculty

Eric Bortz, Assistant Professor, ebortz@alaska.edu
Brandon Briggs, Assistant Professor, bbriggs6@alaska.edu
Jason Burkhead, Assistant Professor, jlburkhead@alaska.edu
Jennifer Burns, Professor, jmburns@alaska.edu
Matt Carlson, Associate Professor, mlcarlson@alaska.edu
Douglas Causey, Professor, dcausey@alaska.edu
Khrys Duddleston, Professor, knduddleston@alaska.edu
Sarah Gerken, Professor, sagerken@alaska.edu
Rachael Hannah, Assistant Professor, rmhannah@alaska.edu
Christopher Jung, Assistant Professor, cmjung@alaska.edu
Jocelyn Krebs, Professor, jekrebs@alaska.edu
Kathryn Milligan-Myhre, Assistant Professor, kat@alaska.edu
Donald Spalinger, Professor, despalinger@alaska.edu
Jonathan Stecyk, Associate Professor, jstecyk@alaska.edu
Ian van Tets, Associate Professor, igvantets@alaska.edu
Jeffrey Welker, Professor, jmwelker@alaska.edu
Cheryl Wilga, Director and Professor, cwilga@alaska.edu

Jerry Kudenov, Professor Emeritus, jdkudenov@alaska.edu
Richard Kullberg, Professor Emeritus, afrwk@alaska.edu
Kristine Mann, Professor Emeritus, afkem@alaska.edu
Dean Milligan, Professor Emeritus, afdem1@alaska.edu
Kim Peterson, Professor Emeritus, knpeterson@alaska.edu
Bjartmar Sveinbjörnsson, Professor Emeritus, bsveinbjornsson@alaska.edu