Civil Engineering

Engineering Building (ENGR), Room 201, (907) 786-1900
www.uaa.alaska.edu/civilengineering

The Master of Science in Civil Engineering (MSCE) is designed for students who wish to pursue research-oriented occupations or to eventually pursue a PhD degree, as well as to prepare for advanced professional engineering practice. The Master of Civil Engineering (MCE) is designed for students who wish to further emphasize engineering practice and prefer to substitute additional classroom education for graduate research experience.

Program Objectives

The objectives of the UAA civil engineering graduate programs are to provide graduates with:

  1. Advanced technical knowledge within one or more of the recognized sub-disciplines of civil engineering.
  2. The ability to conceive and conduct an advanced research program.
  3. The ability to effectively communicate research results.

Programs of Study

Master of Civil Engineering

Master of Science

Faculty

Osama Abaza, Professor and Chair, oabaza@alaska.edu
Ghulam Bham, Assistant Professor, ghbham@alaska.edu
Alice Bullington, Assistant Professor, abulling@alaska.edu
Aaron Dotson, Assistant Professor, addotson@alaska.edu
Utpal Dutta, Associate Professor, udutta2@alaska.edu
Scott Hamel, Assistant Professor, sehamel@alaska.edu
Rob Lang, Professor, rjlang@alaska.edu
He Liu, Professor, hliu@alaska.edu
Andrew Metzger, Assistant Professor, atmetzger@alaska.edu
John Olofsson, Professor, jaolofsson@alaska.edu
Thomas Ravens, Professor, tmravens@alaska.edu
Orson Smith, Professor, opsmith@alaska.edu
Zhaohui (Joey) Yang, Associate Professor, zyang2@alaska.edu
Hannele Zubeck, Professor, hkzubeck@alaska.edu