Psychology

Social Sciences Building (SSB), Room 352, (907) 786-1665
www.uaa.alaska.edu/psych

The undergraduate psychology program offers mentorship and high-quality training in the science of behavior and mental processes and, in so doing, enriches the lives of our students, citizens of Alaska and the field of psychology. In service of this mission, the faculty provides effective instruction, academic and career advising, research training, professional skill development, service opportunities, and preparation for graduate school and employment in the human service field.

The psychology major requirements are flexible and are designed to serve a variety of career goals. Both a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Science are available. The student majoring in psychology pursuing a general interest in human nature will probably take a different sequence of psychology courses than a student who is preparing for advanced work in psychology. All students are encouraged to plan undergraduate work carefully. Early and frequent consultation with an advisor is helpful in selecting courses which will provide a solid foundation in psychology and a good general education.

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science

Minor

Faculty

Robert Boeckmann, Professor, rjboeckmann@alaska.edu
Sara Buckingham, Assistant Professor
Eric John David, Associate Professor, edavid8@alaska.edu
Patrick Dulin, Professor, pldulin@alaska.edu
Gloria Eldridge, Professor/MS Program Coordinator, gdeldridge@alaska.edu
James Fitterling, PhD Program Director/Associate Professor, jfitterling@alaska.edu
Vivian Gonzalez, Associate Professor, vmgonzalez@alaska.edu
Veronica Howard, Assistant Professor, vjhoward@alaska.edu
Maria Ippolito, Professor, mfippolito@alaska.edu
Phil Jordan, Term Instructor, pajordan@alaska.edu
Claudia Lampman, Director/Professor, cblampman@alaska.edu
Anayansi Lombardero, Assistant Professor
Gwen Lupfer, Associate Professor, gjlupfer@alaska.edu
Mychal Machado, Assistant Professor, mmachado2@alaska.edu
Eric S. Murphy, Professor, esmurphy@alaska.edu
Yasuhiro Ozuru, Associate Professor, yozuru@alaska.edu
John Petraitis, Professor, jmpetraitis@alaska.edu
Rebecca Volino Robinson, Assistant Professor, rvrobinson2@alaska.edu
Patricia Sandberg, Professor/PSC Director, prsandberg@alaska.edu
Karen Ward, Professor, kmward@alaska.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Christiane Brems, cbrems@pacificu.edu
Bruno Kappes, bmkappes@alaska.edu
Mark Johnson, mejohnson@pacificu.edu
Robert Madigan, afrjm@alaska.edu
Rosellen Rosich, rmrosich@alaska.edu