Economics and Public Policy

Edward & Cathryn Rasmuson Hall (RH), Room 203, (907) 786-4100
business.uaa.alaska.edu/departments/economics-public-policy/

Economics provides students with a systematic way of understanding the world around them. Economics is a social science that studies human behavior, markets, and how people, organizations and governments make choices about the use of resources. A degree in economics gives students career opportunities in many fields and excellent preparation for postgraduate study. The Economics Department hosts an experimental economics lab and an experimental economics research program. It has also has special expertise in behavioral economics and resource economics. It is home to the Rasmuson Chair in Economics, the only fully privately endowed scholarly chair at the University of Alaska, which brings leading economics scholars to be in residence at UAA for terms up to a year. It offers courses for both degree and non-degree-seeking students at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Students who wish to major in economics may choose either the Bachelor of Arts (BA) or Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA). A Minor in Economics is also offered.

Programs of Study

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Business Administration

Minor

Faculty

Jonathan Alevy, Associate Professor, jalevy@alaska.edu
Matthew Berman, Professor, auiser@alaska.edu
Kevin Berry, Assistant Professor, kberry13@alaska.edu
Andrew Bibler, Assistant Professor, ajbibler@alaska.edu
Stephen Colt, Professor Emeritus, steve.colt@alaska.edu
Scott Goldsmith, Professor Emeritus, osgoldsmith@alaska.edu
Mouchine Guettabi, Assistant Professor, mguettabi@alaska.edu
Kyle Hampton, Associate Professor, kwhampton@alaska.edu
Lance Howe, Associate Professor, Chair, elhowe@alaska.edu
Lee Huskey, Professor Emeritus, tlhuskey@alaska.edu
Stephen Jackstadt, Professor Emeritus
Alexander James, Assistant Professor, ajames27@alaska.edu
Paul Johnson, Professor, afprj@alaska.edu
Gunnar Knapp, Professor Emeritus, afgpk@alaska.edu
James Murphy, Professor, Rasmuson Chair of Economics, jimurphy@alaska.edu
Matthew Reimer, Assistant Professor, mreimer2@alaska.edu
Larry Ross, Professor, afllr@alaska.edu
Ralph Townsend, Professor, Director ISER, retownsend01@alaska.edu
Qiujie (Angie) Zheng, Associate Professor, qzheng3@alaska.edu